Blog Community
Welcome/Getting Started Parenting Early Education Family Health & Wellness Family Fun & Activities

how to deal with a schizophrenic mother in law?

Home Forums Family Fun & Activities how to deal with a schizophrenic mother in law?

This topic contains 3 replies, has 3 voices, and was last updated by  Richard Bianchi 6 months, 4 weeks ago.

Viewing 4 posts - 1 through 4 (of 4 total)
  • Author

By profession I am a teacher and married for 1 and a half year.After my marriage I had a tough time with my mother in law like others.But when few months later,by chance I came to know that I am staying with a schizophrenic mother-in-law,I was absolutely clueless that how to deal with the situation because before marriage nobody informed me or my family that she is suffering from this disease.When i asked my husband about that,he told me to try to adjust with her mother.But i don’t know how to deal with her disorganized thinking and speech,suspiciousness,Strange use of words or way of speaking and Odd or irrational statements.

Profile photo of Dasia
    Dasia

Amrita, that sounds like such a tough situation to be in! I feel for you. You know, in many areas they often have support groups for the family members of people who suffer from vaious psychological conditions. Have you ever looked into that? You might find one through a local hospital network. Groups like that can provide support and advice for people dealing with family members with those issues. Might be helpful!

Thanks indeed for your suggestion.i will definitely try to find out such orginaztion in my locality.

Richard Bianchi
    Participant