Blog Community
Welcome/Getting Started Parenting Early Education Family Health & Wellness Family Fun & Activities

Parent Perspectives on Men in Early Education

Home Forums Early Education Parent Perspectives on Men in Early Education

This topic contains 4 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  Toya C 2 years, 11 months ago.

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author
    Profile photo of Aaron Paker
    Aaron Paker

One thing I have struggled with more than any other in my 10+ years of working with young children is parents and even co-workers who are uncomfortable with men working in early education.  As a Special Needs Teacher I was not allowed to change diapers unless I had someone in the bathroom with me and I had several parents request transfers to other schools for their children.  When I joined Bright Horizons a family disenrolled and many others requested other classrooms.  By the end of my first year I was one of the most requested teachers in the center by families moving within the center and the least requested by incoming families. And, 5 years later, as an administrator I sometimes have touring parents ask me pointedly if I spend much time in the rooms and if I ever change diapers.  So I guess my question is two-fold:

Is there really that strong of a general mistrust of men in our society, that families are uncomfortable with the idea that a male teacher, with many years of service in the field, might change their child’s diaper?

And

What, if anything, do you think I could do or say to help new families feel more comfortable with the idea of leaving their children in my care?

Toya C
    Participant