Blog Community
Welcome/Getting Started Parenting Early Education Family Health & Wellness Family Fun & Activities

What does it take to be a Preschool Teacher?

Home Forums Early Education What does it take to be a Preschool Teacher?

This topic contains 4 replies, has 4 voices, and was last updated by  Caty Trio 3 years, 5 months ago.

Viewing 5 posts - 1 through 5 (of 5 total)
  • Author

To be an early childhood educator you must meet some criteria. You must have the education and experience to deal with young children, a high morale to supply you with positive energy, and you should be physically fit to make sure that everyone in your care is safe and being well cared for. Do I have these criteria? I do but it still makes me think if I have what it takes to be a preschool teacher.

I have been a preschool teacher for more than twenty years. I started teaching when I was eighteen being a substitute teacher to support myself while finishing a degree in Biology. I am now in my early forties and I am still teaching preschool in one of the BH centers in Arlington Virginia. My calling may be in this field because no matter how I tried to get away from the teaching profession, my life circumstances keep pulling me toward it.  I met my husband when I took my bachelor’s degree in Physical Therapy and we got married after graduation. We were both teaching college when I got pregnant and I decided to stop teaching for a while to prioritize my family. When my son turned two years old, I gave birth to a daughter. For four years, I have been a full time mom. Oh, I love those moments when all I cared about was taking care of my two children and my husband who delightfully comes home and enjoys well-prepared dishes. During which time, I attended short term baking classes and sewing lessons. I was even thinking that I might be changing into another profession, probably becoming a chef or a fashion designer. My children got the best education during their first childhood years. T